Image 1 of 0

Vignobles Dulon - 133 Grand Jean - 33760 SOULIGNAC - Tél: +33 5 56 23 69 16 - Fax: +33 5 57 34 41 29 © 2012 Réalisé par AUM WEB
Site logo

Harvest and Vinification

To harvest quickly the 140 hectares of vineyard, everything is picked-up mechanically with our own harvesting machine.

Mechanic harvest has many advantages. First of all, as it goes faster than manually, we can wait the perfect ripeness to pick up the grapes. We can also avoid the hottest moment of the day, we can work at night, when temperatures are cooler to keep the freshness of the fruit.

Also, the moment between the vine and the cellar is reduced, so does the risk of oxydisation.

The new harvesting machines are very respectful for the grapes and make a very clean job. They destalk the grapes and leave green grapes on the vine. We can say that the quality of mechanical harvest improved a lot.

White Vinification

Cold Maceration :
We maintain the juice at 8° during 24 to 48 hours before the fermentation starts to develop the flavours of the juice and bring freshness to the wine.

Pressing:
As there are no tannins or colour to extract from the skins, we press the grapes to only keep the juice for the fermentation. This step must be made softly and progressively to avoid crushing seeds, which bring bitterness or to avoid damaging the delicate aromas of white wines.

First Racking :
After being pressed, the juice is very turbid so we need to clarify it for the fermentation to start stabilizing it. So we put it into a cool tank at 8° for 12 hours to avoid the fermentation which would make the juice even more turbid, and also because cold help decanting.

Alcoholic fermentation:
This is the main step of wine-making. The sugar is changed into alcohol by yeasts. We make it into thermo-regulated tanks because the temperature must be maintained between 17 and 20° degrees, quite cold temperatures to keep the freshness of the aromas.

Racking and Stirring:
The main objective of the racking is to separate the clear wine to the deposit (called lees) which forms at the bottom of tanks. The stirring allows to put back on the lees in suspension which have settled as they bring structure and roundness to the white wines.
Stacks Image 165
Stacks Image 173
Stacks Image 210

Red Vinification

We keep the skins for red vinifications because they bring tannins, colour and flavours to the wine, but we first get off the stalks which deliver green flavours to the wines.
To extract as much flavours as possible we can use thermo-vinification, which consists in heating grapes at 75°C and to cool them just after at 10° for 7 days. This allows us to develop fruity flavours and to have smoother tannins, which suits customer needs who do not have to age their wines for many years in a cellar before drinking them.


Then, temperature goes up and the fermentation starts. It is made in thermo-regulated tanks to avoid too high temperatures which makes increase the bad acidity.
Because of carbon dioxyde, the juice stays at the bottom while berries, lighter, go to the top of the tank. However, as we need a maceration of these two parts together, we do two pump-over each day. This step consists in collecting juice from the bottom of the tank and to spray it on the berries through the top of the tank.
When all the sugar has been transformed into alcohol, then we let the juice dropping from the tank, and the berries are pressed to collect a darker and more powerful wine that we are going to blend with a lighter one if we want a strong structure.

Image 1 of 0

Vignobles Dulon - 133 Grand Jean - 33760 SOULIGNAC - Tél: +33 5 56 23 69 16 - Fax: +33 5 57 34 41 29 © 2012 Réalisé par AUM WEB
Site logo

Vendanges / Vinifications

Afin de couvrir les 140 hectares de la propriété, les vendanges sont réalisées mécaniquement, avec notre propre matériel.

La vendange mécanique a l’avantage de nous permettre de récolter à parfaite maturité. Nous pouvons également éviter les heures les plus chaudes de la journée pour conserver la fraîcheur aromatique des raisins.

De même, la durée entre la vendange et la mise en cuve est considérablement réduite ce qui diminue le risque d’oxydation du raisin.

Les machines à vendanger actuelles respectent vraiment les baies de raisin. Elles éraflent les grappes et laissent les raisins pas mûrs sur le pied de vigne, donc la qualité de la vendange mécanique s'est beaucoup améliorée.

Vinification des vins blanc

Macération pelliculaire :
Cette technique consiste à maintenir la vendange à 8° pendant 24 à 48h. En retardant le départ de la fermentation, les arômes sont révélés et le vin garde une belle fraîcheur.

Pressurage :
Les grappes sont pressées et l'on ne récupère que le jus pour la vinification des vins blancs. Cette opération doit être douce et progressive afin d' éviter toute pression brutale qui écraserait les pépins et libérerait des saveurs amères.

Débourbage :
Cette opération consiste à clarifier le jus de raisin qui est trouble après le pressurage. Le moût est logé pendant 12h dans une cuve refroidie à 8° pour d'une part éviter la fermentation qui troublerait davantage le vin mais aussi car le froid permet la décantation de toutes les particules en suspension.

Fermentation alcoolique:
Durant cette phase, le sucre est transformé en alcool par des levures. Effectuée en cuves inox thermo-régulées, cela nous permet de maintenir la température entre 18 et 20°C et de préserver au maximum les arômes délicats des vins blancs.

Soutirage et bâtonnage :
Le principal objectif du soutirage est de séparer le vin clair du dépôt (appelé lie) qui se forme au fond des cuves. Le bâtonnage permet de remettre en suspension les lies qui ont sédimentées car elles apportent de la structure et de la rondeur aux vins blancs.

Stacks Image 165
Stacks Image 173
Stacks Image 210

Vinification des vins rouges

Pour les fermentations en rouge, on érafle la vendange mais on garde les baies (pellicules et pulpe) qui donneront la couleur, les arômes et les tanins au vin.
Afin d'extraire le maximum d'arômes, de structure et pour donner une couleur soutenue à nos vins rouges, nous utilisons également la thermo-vinification. Cette étape consiste à chauffer la vendange à 75° puis à la refroidir immédiatement après à 10° pendant 7 jours. Ceci permet de produire des vins très fruités avec une structure soyeuse qui permet de consommer ces vins rapidement, sans devoir attendre des années de vieillissement en cave.
La fermentation commence dès que la température du moût remonte, elle est effectuée en cuves thermo-régulées pour éviter des températures trop importantes.
Pendant la fermentation, dû au dégagement de CO2, le jus reste au fond de la cuve alors que les baies, plus légères, remontent à la surface. Or comme ce sont les peaux qui contiennent la couleur, les arômes et les tanins, il faut que le jus soit en contact avec cette partie solide. Pour cela, on effectue un remontage, deux fois par jour.

On récupère le jus par le bas de la cuve puis on le remet dans la cuve par le haut pour que le jus arrose ces baies.
Lorsque tout le sucre est transformé en alcool, nous écoulons le jus de la cuve, et le marc (baies écrasées) est pressé pour récupérer un jus plus concentré qui apportera si besoin de la couleur et de la structure aux vins.